NationsBank Foundation funds new IT professorship

    NationsBank Foundation has pledged $250,000 to establish the Bank of America Professorship--so named to reflect the identity NationsBank adopted August 30--in Information Technology in the Pamplin College of Business.

    The endowment will enable Virginia Tech, which is recognized as having one of the best business-based information technology programs in the nation, to attract and retain prominent faculty members to the rapidly growing department. The number of students majoring in management science and information technology jumped from 300 to 650 in one year. Employers are snapping up these students before they graduate, offering highly competitive salaries. The demand is projected to continue as businesses become more dependent on technology.

    Ut Prosim Society inducts a record number of members

    The ranks of the Ut Prosim Society have swelled recently with a record number of inductees. The 13th Annual Ut Prosim Society banquet, held April 10, recognized 70 new members and 11 advancing members, boosting the society's numbers to an all-time high of 534 active members.

    ÓThis kind of growth, especially after closing an extensive, successful campaign, speaks volumes about Virginia Tech's donors,Ó said Charles Steger, vice president for development and university relations. Virginia Tech closed out fiscal year 1998-99 with a total of $71,388,318 in gifts, an increase of more than 45 percent over last year's historical high.

    Board of Visitors Rector James E. Turner '56, president and chief operating officer for General Dynamics Corporation, advanced to Distinguished Benefactor, the society's highest level. Turner is serving as rector for his second year and is also a member of the Foundation Board of Directors, the Golden Hokie Club, and the College of Engineering's Committee of 100. He received the Distinguished Alumnus Award from the College of Engineering during its spring 1999 commencement.

    Advancing Ut Prosim Society member and Board of Visitors Rector James E. Turner Jr. '56 (right) and his wife, Elizabeth, with President Paul E. Torgersen at the April 10 induction ceremony. Pres. T., James Turner, wife Elizabeth

    New members--Ut Prosim Society

    Robert H. Digges and Dr. Kathleen Grega Digges
    Francis M. DonLeavey
    R. Paul Farrell Jr.
    Andrew E. and Sandra K. Fox
    Eustace Frederick
    Dan and Linda Gilbert
    Col. Walter P. Glover and Mazie L. Glover
    C.T. 'Red' Graves and Anne Hutcheson Graves
    Luther J. Hamlett, M.D., and Alice R. Hamlett
    J. Daniel and Ann M. Hardy
    Buddy and Laura Haycox
    Milton E. and Cecelia H. Hite
    Stan and Linda Hodges
    Irvin G. Horner
    Bob and Nancy Hubble
    William F. Hyde
    Gene A. and Ina M. James
    Mr. and Mrs. Marvin L. Johnson
    A. Harrison Jones Sr. and Eleanor P. Jones
    Gregory B. Jones
    J.B. Jones and Jane Hardcastle Jones
    Mrs. Hugh P. Kelly
    Bill and Peggy Lavery
    Mr. and Mrs. William R. Lewis Jr.
    John K. Light
    Gordon Asher Mapp and Sarah McKenney Mapp
    Darrell D. and Betty R. Martin
    Dr. and Mrs. Arthur G. Meakin
    John E. and Audre H. Moore
    Larry and Suzanne Moore

    John B. and Joann P. Obenchain
    William W. Old
    James E. and Brenda K. Pearman Jr.
    James M. Pyne
    Ellen Reck
    Diane Light Riffer
    Mrs. Inez Truluck Ripley
    Richard T. Ripley
    Constance W. Sanders and H. Robert Sanders Jr.*
    Dorothy G. Seagle*
    Samuel E. and Judith J. Shrader
    Harry J. and Alice Y. Skinker
    Lynn E. and Yvonne S. Slonaker
    Charles R. and Janet K. Smith
    Michael A. Smith
    Helen D. and Frank A. Spurr Jr.
    Doug and Cathy Stewart
    William L. Stinson
    Hazel C. and Lee C. Tait
    John and Rosemarie Tamminen
    Suzanne Parker Thornhill
    Deborah and Daniel Tillotson
    Ute K. and William E. Tucker Jr.
    Richard F. Whitaker
    William I. and Carol S. White Jr.
    Kay and Peter Winzenried
    Robert L. and Betty Wolfe
    Hal G. Worley
    Elaine W. Young
    Jim Young
    Advancing members--Ut Prosim Society

    Patrick D. and Sandra C. Cupp
    Ralph B. Davis
    Grant A. Dove
    Patrick M. and Nancy R. Lathrop
    William C. McAllister
    F. D. Robertson
    Garnett E. and Patsy T. Smith
    Nicholas D. and Fay H. Street
    Mr. and Mrs. James E. Turner Jr.
    Edward B. Via
    Charles C. Walts

    * deceased

    Home | News | Features | Athletics | Alumni | Classnotes | Editor's Page